Umm-Al-Qura calendar

The blessed month of Ramadan is one of the most important dates in the Islamic calendar. It’s a time dedicated to fasting, prayer, worship, reciting the Qur’an, self-reflection, abstaining from sinful acts, and connecting with Allah (SWT). This auspicious month is full of great spiritual reward for all Muslims and is also a time when many choose to give zakat charity to those in need.

When is Ramadan 2021?

The Islamic calendar follows the lunar cycle, and as such, Ramadan dates vary year to year; typically, it starts approximately 10 days earlier each year.

This year, the Ramadan start date is expected to be Monday 12th April, and fasting will conclude in the evening of Tuesday 11th May. These dates are subject to the official moon sighting. 

Other key Ramadan 2021 dates to be aware of are:

  • Tuesday 13th April – the first day of sawm (fasting)
  • Saturday 8th May – Laylat al Qadr (The Night of Power)
  • Wednesday 12th May – Eid ul Fitr (festival of breaking the fast)

Ramadan Calendar 2021

Please see below for your Ramadan Calendar for 2021, which includes accurate timings for Fajr (before sunrise), Zuhr (midday), Asr (mid-afternoon), Maghrib (after sunset) and Isha (before midnight), in accordance with the sighting of the moon. The day's fast begins before Fajr prayers and closes with Maghrib prayers.

Your pre-dawn meal – Suhoor – should have concluded before the Fajr call to prayer has completed, or you will be unable to fast and Kaffarah must be paid. Any days of fasting that are missed due to illness or any other valid reason mean a Fidya payment must be made. Learn more about Fidya and Kaffarah payments here.

After Maghrib prayers have concluded, you can close your fast with an evening meal, although it is traditional to break the fast with some dates and a glass of water, with the main meal being enjoyed later on with family and friends.

Prayer Timetable

DateRamadanFajrSunriseDhuhrAsrMaghrib / IftarIsha
Tue 13th Apr 1 04:34 06:06 13:06 16:48 19:57 21:12
Wed 14th Apr 2 04:32 06:04 13:06 16:49 19:59 21:14
Thu 15th Apr 3 04:30 06:02 13:06 16:49 20:01 21:16
Fri 16th Apr 4 04:27 05:59 13:05 16:50 20:02 21:17
Sat 17th Apr 5 04:25 05:57 13:05 16:51 20:04 21:18
Sun 18th Apr 6 04:22 05:55 13:05 16:52 20:06 21:20
Mon 19th Apr 7 04:20 05:53 13:05 16:52 20:07 21:21
Tue 20th Apr 8 04:18 05:51 13:04 16:53 20:09 21:23
Wed 21st Apr 9 04:15 05:49 13:04 16:54 20:11 21:25
Thu 22nd Apr 10 04:13 05:47 13:04 16:55 20:12 21:26
Fri 23rd Apr 11 04:11 05:45 13:04 16:55 20:14 21:27
Sat 24th Apr 12 04:08 05:43 13:04 16:56 20:16 21:29
Sun 25th Apr 13 04:06 05:41 13:03 16:57 20:17 21:30
Mon 26th Apr 14 04:04 05:39 13:03 16:57 20:19 21:31
Tue 27th Apr 15 04:01 05:37 13:03 16:58 20:21 21:33
Wed 28th Apr 16 03:59 05:35 13:03 16:59 20:22 21:34
Thu 29th Apr 17 03:57 05:33 13:03 16:59 20:24 21:35
Fri 30th Apr 18 03:54 05:31 13:03 17:00 20:25 21:36
Sat 1st May 19 03:51 05:29 13:03 17:01 20:27 21:38
Sun 2nd May 20 03:49 05:27 13:02 17:01 20:29 21:40
Mon 3rd May 21 03:46 05:25 13:02 17:02 20:30 21:41
Tue 4th May 22 03:45 05:24 13:02 17:03 20:32 21:43
Wed 5th May 23 03:42 05:22 13:02 17:03 20:34 21:45
Thu 6th May 24 03:40 05:20 13:02 17:04 20:35 21:46
Fri 7th May 25 03:37 05:18 13:02 17:05 20:37 21:48
Sat 8th May 26 03:36 05:17 13:02 17:05 20:38 21:49
Sun 9th May 27 03:33 05:15 13:02 17:06 20:40 21:51
Mon 10th May 28 03:31 05:13 13:02 17:07 20:42 21:53
Tue 11th May 29 03:29 05:12 13:02 17:07 20:43 21:54
Wed 12th May 30 03:27 05:10 13:02 17:08 20:45 21:56

Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam are the religious foundations for every Muslim believer, and comprise of:

  • Shahadah – the declaration of faith - involves stating that there is no God but Allah (SWT) and Mohammed (PBUH) is His Messenger
  • Salah – obligatory prayer - must be performed 5 times a day (before sunrise, midday, late afternoon, after sunset and before midnight)
  • Zakat – alms, or charity - zakat payments are typically given during the holy month of Ramadan as it holds much greater reward
  • Sawm – fasting - all eligible Muslims must practice it between the hours of sunrise and sunset during Ramadan
  • Hajj – the annual pilgrimage to Mecca - all able Muslims must make this journey at least once in their lifetime

As Salah (prayer) is such a big part of everyday life in Islam, and each obligatory prayer is dictated by the time of day, prayer timetables are compiled to assist Muslims in their everyday life. This is even more important during Ramadan, therefore, we have compiled a Ramadan Calendar for your prayers.

We wish you a blessed month filled with infinite reward. Ameen.

Donate this Ramadan with UK Islamic Mission

Should you wish to donate zakat with us this Ramadan, you can do so here to help brothers and sisters in your local communities and around the world who are in need of help.

Contact us

202 North Gower Street
NW1 2LY
United Kingdom
info@ukim.org Tel: 0207 387 2157 Fax: 0207 383 0867

More Ways To Give

Direct Bank Transfer
UK Islamic Mission, Barclays Bank Plc

Sort Code: 20-06-09,
Account No: 30916374

International Bank Transfer
SWIFTBIC: BUKBGB22 
IBAN: GB29 BUKB 2006 0930 9163 74

Other Giving Methods

Copyright © 2021 Ukim.org All Rights Reserved.

UK Registered Charity Since 1962
Charity Registration No. 250275